Taste, walk, cycle and party

La Vie en Roses is located in the peaceful oasis of the "Faluintjes-region". You can walk and cycle to one's heart's content. At the Affligem Abbey you can catch your breath. Don't forget to set foot in Aalst, the wonderful city famous for carnaval.

The Abbey of Affligem

The eyecatcher of the "Faluintjes-region" is the Benedictine Abbey of Aflligem. It was founded in 1062 en has a very rich history. Today about twenty priests are staying in the abbey, which has developed into a cultural and religious centre. You can have a drink or a meal in "Gasthof d'Oude Brouwerij" which means old brewery. The Affligem beer, originally brewed in the Abbey is now brewed in Affligem Brewery BDS in Opwijk.

"Faluintjes" in the forest

The four "Faluintjes-villages" are Baardegem, Meldert, Herdersem and Moorsel. La Vie en Roses is located in the latter. It was originally an area covered with forests and fields on the border of Meldert and Moorsel. The name "Faluintjes" is thought to come from "falaën", an old French word which means: a deserted and swampy region which was made accessible by throwing bushels of wood on those swampy areas. It is also possible that the name could refer to the French word 'falun': an old shell bank which could be explained by the rich amount of fossils in the ground. More information about the area: Heemkundige Kring De Faluintjes.

Walking routes

Do you feel like going for a walk? We must recommend the route "Door de Faluintjes naar het Kravaalbos". The castle of Moorsel is the starting point as wel as the finishing point. It's a castle surrounded by a moat built in the 16th Century by Karel Van Croy. The castle is beautifully renovated. Enjoy the courtyard, the ponds and the park. Make sure to look up when you are in the "Kravaal-forest" so you don't miss the long-eared-owl and the buzzard and don't forget to greet Bambi and his friends.

Check the walking route: Door de Faluintjes naar het Kravaalbos.

Cycling routes

Denderende Stedenroute
La Vie en Roses is situated in the cycling network of Scheldeland close to the "Denderende Stedenroute" four theme tours, each approximately 40 km. An advantage of this route is that you can follow the river ?Dender? from "Dendermonde" to "Geraardsbergen" and this practically non-stop car-free. It gives cyclists the opportunity to visit the four cities: Dendermonde, Aalst, Ninove and Geraardsbergen.

You can order a brochure with more information at Tourism of East-Flanders.

Ros Beiaardroute
This route connects Dendermonde with the green banks of the river Dender and the river Schelde, picturesque villages like Vlassenbroek and Wieze, rural towns like Denderbelle and Peizegem and the mysterious forest of Buggenhout. In Brabant the route follows a part of the Leirekensroute: an old railroadtrack which is now used for walking and cycling.

Make sure to check out the map before you start.

Giants' route
Hardly any traffic, cycling on the side embankments of the Schelde and the Dender and lot's of café's along the way.

Check out the map.

Buggenhoutse cyclingroute
Buggenhout, known as the green oasis, has 4 main parts: the centre, "Opstal", "Briel" and "Opdorp". This cycling route of 35km runs besides the city boundaries and brings you to the cities of Londerzeel and Opwijk. It is also possible to take a short cut so it's only 25 km.

Check out the map.

Faluintjes route
The Faluintjes route is a cycling tour of approximately 45 km in the Faluintjes-region: Baardegem, Herdersem, Meldert and Moorsel. It's a quiet route in rural areas. A disadvantage of this route is that the roads aren't always in the best of conditions. We rent out decent, comfortable bicycles.

Check out the Faluintjes route.

The Carnaval of Aalst: World Heritage

The city of Aalst is located between Brussels and Ghent. It's THE Carnaval city of Belgium. UNESCO acknowledged Aalst Carnaval as being part of the World's Heritage in the year 2010. The Carnaval of Aalst is from Sunday until the Tuesday before Ash Wednesday and this on a yearly basis. However Aalst is worth a visit any day of the year. Aalst has some beautiful old buildings which are also part of the World's Heritage like the Belltower for example. In the inner city you can find a lot of cafés and restaurants. If you prefer a cultural night out we recommend the cultural centre "De Werf".

Dendermonde

Dendermonde is the house of 'Ros Beiaard'. This wooden horse and the ceremony that goes with it also belongs to the UNESCO World Heritage. Be sure to visit the Main Square which is completely car-free and surrounded by Medieval buildings and houses in neotraditional style. For more information visit the Tourist Office of Dendermonde.

Goûter, se promener, faire du vélo et faire la fête

La Vie en Roses est située dans un oasis de calme dans la région des Faluintjes . Vous y ferez du vélo et des promenades à volonté. Reprenez votre souffle et vous vous retrouvez à l'abbaye d' Affligem et vous plongez dans le monde merveilleux du carnaval d'Alost.

Abbaye d'Affligem

La curiosité de la région des Faluintjes c'est l'abbaye bénédictine de Affligem. Elle a été fondée en 1062 et est dotée d' une riche histoire. Aujourd'hui une vingtaine d'écclésiastiques séjournent à l'abbaye qui est devenue un centre culturel et religieux. Dans le centre culturel on peut agréablement prendre un repas ou une boisson au Gasthof de l'Oude Brouwerij. La bière d'abbaye d'Affligem est aujourd'hui brassée par la brasserie BDS Affligem dans la commune toute proche de Opwijk.

Dans les bois il y a les Faluintjes

Les quatre communes des Faluintjes sont Baardegem, Herdersem, Meldert et Moorsel. C'est dans cette dernière que se trouve La Vie en Roses. Les Faluintjes sont à l'origine un territoire de prairies et de bois à la limite entre Meldert et Moorsel. La dénomination 'faluintjes' serait dérivée de 'falaën', un mot en ancien français désignant une région retirée de marais rendue accessible par des fagots jetés sur les sols bourbeux. Mais le nom peut aussi se rapporter au mot français 'falun' : les Faluintjes serait un ancien banc coquillier, ce qui peut s'expliquer par le sous-sol riche en fossiles. Lire tout sur la région auprès du Cercle local De Faluintjes.

Promenades pédestres

Envie de chausser vos chaussures de marche? la promenade 'A travers les Faluintjes vers le Kravaalbos' est un must. Votre point de départ et d'arrivée est le château de Moorstel, un château construit au seizième siècle par Charles De Croy, cardinal-abbé de Affligem. Le château a été magnifiquement restauré . Profitez du jardin, de la cour, des étangs et du parc. Dans le Kravaalbos levez les yeux, vous y verrez des hiboux moyens- ducs et des buses. Et en chemin dites bonjour aux chevreuils.

Regarder la carte de la promenade Door de Faluintjes naar het Kravaalbos.

Itinéraires à vélo

Denderende Stedenroute
La Vie en Roses se trouve sur le réseau d'itinéraires à vélo Scheldeland et près de la Denderende Stedenroute: quatre itinéraires à thème d'environ 40 kilomètres chacun. Ce qui est particulier à cet itinéraire à vélo c'est que la Dendre vous mène de Dendermonde à Geeraardsbergen sur des chemins pratiquement sans voiture. Les cyclistes ont l'occasion de visiter les quatre villes : Dendermonde, Alost, Ninove et Geeraardsbergen.

Vous pouvez commander la brochure sur la Denderende Stedenroute auprès de Toerisme Oost-Vlaanderen

Ros Beiaardroute (Route du cheval Bayard)
Cet itinéraire à vélo relie Dendermonde aux rives verdoyantes de la Dendre et de l'Escaut, des villages pittoresques comme Vlassenbroek et Wieze, des communes rurales telles Denderbelle et Peizegem et le mystérieux Buggenhoutbos. Dans le Brabant elle suit quelque temps la Leirekensroute, une ligne de chemin de fer réaménagée en circuit de promenade et cyclotouristique.

Regarder la carte de Ros Beiaardroute.

Reuzenroute (Route des Géants)
Peu ou pas de voitures, des vélos sur les rives de l'Escaut et de la Dendre et en cours de route de nombreuses et attrayantes tavernes.

Regarder la carte de la Reuzenroute

Circuit à vélo Buggenhoutse fietsroute
L'oasis vert de Buggenhout se compose de 4 parties : Centrum, Opstal, Briel et Opdorp. La Buggenhoutse fietsroute de 35 km vous transporte le long des frontières de la commune et longe les communes de Opwijk et Londerzeel. L'itinéraire peut aussi être réduit à 25 km.

Regarder la carte de Buggenhoutse Fietsroute

Faluintjes route
La Faluintjesroute est une randonnée à vélo de 45 km dans la région des Faluintjes: Baardegem, Herdersem, Meldert et Moorsel. Une randonnée tranquille sur des chemins ruraux - mais pas toujours si faciles. Vous aurez besoin d'un bon vélo solide et confortable: vous pouvez le louer à La Vie en Roses.

Regarder la carte de la Faluintjesroute.

Carnaval d'Alost patrimoine mondial

La ville d'Alost se situe à mi-chemin entre Bruxelles et Gand , et est la ville carnavalesque de Belgique. En 2010 Alost a été reconnue comme patrimoine mondial de l' UNESCO . Le Carnaval d'Alost a lieu chaque année à la période du dimanche au mardi avant le mercredi des cendres. En dehors de cette période Alost vaut également une visite. En plus du carnaval , la maison des Echevins avec son beffroi a aussi été déclarée patrimoine de l'humanité. Dans l'agréable centre, vous trouverez entre autres un grand choix de cafés et de restaurants. Pour une soirée culturelle, un conseil, il y a le centre culturel De Werf.

Dendermonde (Termonde)

Dendermonde est la ville du Cheval Bayard : l'ommegang avec son cheval Bayard en bois est connu comme patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO. Visitez la Grand-Place, sans voitures et entourée de bâtiments du moyen âge et de maisons de maître de style néo traditionnel. Vous trouverez plus d'information à l'office du tourisme de Dendermonde.